Meet Montague

Just like the ribbon cutting on a grand opening, the first post on this brand new blog has made me feel like the hardest part is over and let the fun begin. If by fun you mean get people to actually read what you write! I am learning by doing in every aspect of my new endeavors I’m tackling:

  1. First time house owner
  2. Organic gardener
  3. blogger
  4. business owner
  5. Great Dane Foster mom
  6. backyard chicken farmer 

So much going on here, how could I not share it with the world by blogging!

I took picking a theme very seriously, I mean, its the face and identity of this whole project. My beautiful Shine On owl theme is very significant to us here at Capulet Cottage. Our Shakespeare references are obvious. We live in a historic neighborhood here in Nashville called Montague, which led us to naming our lovely home Capulet Cottage. We had not been here long at all when we experienced a wonderful happening. While standing out in the front yard admiring my landscape, I was startled by a flutter and whoosh right next to me. Low and behold, a baby barred owl fell out of a nest beside me. I had been hearing hoots at night for quite a while, but had not seen them. I named the owl Monty and picked it up and put it on a high branch and monitored its eating and flight practice.

img_2330
Baby Monty

It was like magic, a sign that what was possible at our new place could be extraordinary just like this baby barred owl that literally fell into our home. Monty continued our Shakespearian theme and became our everlasting mascot.

“The clamorous owl, that nightly hoots and wonders at out quaint spirits.”

~A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Monty grew and flew away, but left a lasting impression. I keep a feather of Monty’s at my desk where I write to remind me of the magic and inspire me in my work, and life. Perhaps Monty will return this year and visit us again, if he/she does I’ll be sure to post the experience here on the blog. I hope I will have plenty of readers to share it with!

Be sure to follow us down below!

 

5 thoughts on “Meet Montague

  1. Sounds like we both have some garden planning to do. 🙂 We planted in the field at my Paw-Paw’s house last season for the first time in almost 2 decades. I was actually working in that garden while on the phone with the real estate agent making an offer on the house we bought a few months ago. Now we have space for a garden of our own and I’m very excited!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And oh, by the way, Monty’s really cute. I have a friend here in this blogging world who works at a wildlife rehabilitation, and since following her blog, I am now able to appreciate owls and crows… before which I see them as intimidating and somehow linked to darkness and mystery. Now I see them as lovely creatures. If you like you can search for her blog “A Murder of Crows” … Maybe you may see your Monty on one of their adventures hehehe

    Like

  3. Seriously!!! and really very weirdly… all those six new endeavors of yours are all my goals! I want to have our own house/”cottage” if you may, (it sounds so fairytaley right, we’re currently saving up for it!), and first thing I’d do too is start a garden, and yup, an organic one too! I also plan on starting a business as soon as I give birth (my way of helping with finances and still look after our kids), aaaaand we are also planning on having chickens when we finally buy our own place! I’m not sure about the Great Dane for the time being but, (this is getting really weird) my fiance plans on adopting one once he gets back from his work abroad! Now imagine the goosebumps I had while I was reading this post…we are just so much alike! Only difference is, you already have those in your hands right now, while I, on the other hand, am still working on achieving those… You bet I’m following you too now! See you around! 🌻

    Like

Leave a Reply

